Visiting us at Penwortham
JOHN HORROCKS COTTAGE AND INTERPRETIVE CENTRE
Located on the corner of Surrey Lane and Horrocks Highway, Penwortham (10 km south of Clare).
John Horrocks Cottage is the oldest stone building north of Gawler and was built by John Horrocks shortly after his arrival in South Australia from Lancashire, England in 1839.
With Government aid and support from the local wineries and traders, the Society purchased the cottage in 2001.
Members & locals also made substantial donations to purchase the cottage.
Maintenance is ongoing at the cottage and adjacent Interpretive Centre.
Now restored, the Interpretive Centre houses information about the history of Penwortham and the Horrocks 1846 expedition.
It is also used for exhibitions and the sale of MHHS books and merchandise.
While visiting the cottage take a self-guided walk of the picturesque village of Penwortham with the aid of a printed guide available at the cottage and the Clare Valley Visitor Centre.
John Horrocks Cottage and Interpretive Centre are open on the first Sunday of the Month between 2pm-4pm or by appointment. We also cater for small groups and school visits.
Located in the Watervale Institute, Watervale, SA - Access by appointment only (phone 8843 4123)
The building houses the MHHS Collection of family histories, local cemetery records, memorabilia and historical documents including diaries, journals, memoirs and an extensive collection of old photos (see the gallery for examples).
The History Room provides a facility for the public to research their family history or find out more about the area. Our Research Officer is available to assist with research.
There is a small charge for this service. The office provides scanning and photocopying facilities and there is also a small library.